Media Contact:
Monique Linder, Founder OMG Media Solutions Tel: 612.787.8705

Sheila E. Releases Iconic’s Title Track Funky National Anthem: Message 2 America Inspired By Iconic Civil Rights Leader, Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.

Ahead of the release of world-renowned recording artist Sheila E.’s eighth studio album on 9/1, title track Funky National Anthem: Message 2 America Set 2 Release 8.12.17

LOS ANGELES, CA (August 12, 2017) – World-renowned recording artist Sheila E. will release her next studio album, passionately called ICONIC: Message 4 America, on September 1st, 2017. Revitalizing declarations of American history, Sheila E., along with her band and guest artists including Ringo Starr, George Clinton, Israel Houghton, Freddie Stone, The E. Family, Angela Davis, Dolores Huerta, Bootsy Collins and Candy Dulfer, have created a musical message that resonates throughout our society today.

Disturbed by the events of the last election cycle and the seemingly endless disarray of actions detrimental to America and the world since, ICONIC: Message 4 America is the beginning of Sheila E.’s effort to inspire people, especially youth, to get involved in order to bring about change in upcoming actions that will affect the lives of millions.

The title track of ICONIC: Message 4 America is FUNKY NATIONAL ANTHEM: MESSAGE 2 AMERICA, inspired by Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.’s message of nonviolence, while empowering people to stand up for what is right. Sheila’s E Iconic Funky National Anthem: Message 2 America mixes classic James Brown’s “Gonna Have A Funky Good Time” with the messaging of iconic civil rights leader, Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Funky National Anthem: Message 2 America pays tribute to the relevance of the civil rights movement today based on the lessons learned from leaders that have paved the way for our freedom. “I feel that it is my responsibility to utilize my music platform to bring Dr. King’s nonviolence message forward, as we are in critically challenging times fighting for human rights”, said Sheila E.

In a released statement, Sheila E. expressed why it is important to use her music platform to bring all people together to fight for human rights:

“So many people here at home and around the world are shocked and afraid, on a daily basis, of what is happening in America. We have lost our way. Our country and American values are under attack by a violent barrage of lies and oppressive agenda that causes harm to society and threatens the moral fabric of our nation. Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.’s message of nonviolence has to be at the forefront of our fight for human rights. We have to eliminate and reject violence in every form that this being thrown our way.”– Sheila E.

1. FNA : Message 2 America
2. Come Together (featuring Ringo Starr)
3. Everyday People (featuring Freddie Stone)
4. Inner City Blues/Troubleman
5. It Starts with US (Dolores Huerta)
6. Jesus Children of America (Israel Houghton)
7. JB Medley (Bootsy Collins)
8. Blackbird
9. One Nation Under a Groove/Mothership Connection (featuring George Clinton)
10. Pusherman
11. Respect Yourself
12. I Am Funky
13. Yes We Can Can (Angela Davis)
14. America (featuring Candy Dulfer)
15. What The World Needs Now Is Love


About Sheila E.

One of life’s constants for Sheila E. comes down to a simple phrase: follow the beat. Her impeccable inner rhythm is the pulse behind a trailblazing career that knows no bounds. She is a world-class drummer and percussionist whose credits read like chapters in a music history book: Ringo Starr, Marvin Gaye, Prince, Herbie Hancock, Diana Ross, Lionel Richie, Gloria Estefan, George Duke and countless others. Grammy and Emmy Award-nominated singer/songwriter behind the seminal hits and chart worthy songs “The Glamorous Life”, “Love Bizarre”, “Erotic City”, “Hold Me”, “The Belle of St. Mark”, “Noon Rendezvous”, “Hollyrock”, “Mona Lisa” and “Rock Star”. This will be Sheila E.’s eighth studio album.

Press Release